Fascinating I Am

Amy Winchester, Press Officer at Harper Collins, said recently that authors ought to pay attention to what is interesting about them as a person because nobody wants to interview a book. The full post from the online Romance Festival is here. So what’s interesting about me? Can I find five things you didn’t know, Dear Reader?

Fascinating Fact One:  I’ve been able to knit since I was four – taught by my granny.

The colour of romance Image courtesy of Gregory Szarkiewicz / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

The colour of romance
Image courtesy of Gregory Szarkiewicz / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

 

Fascinating Fact Two:

I’ve swum in the sea off Stromboli.

Fascinating Fact Three: I have medals for Highland Dancing prowess.

Dancing shoes with medals

Dancing shoes with medals

Fascinating Fact Four:

Food is my favourite food. Oh, all right, spinach soup with a dash of cream and sprinkling of nutmeg.

Fascinating Fact Five: I have been interviewed on telly. Lasted maybe ten seconds, so there’s opportunity for the other fourteen minutes and 50 seconds. Thanks, Andy, something to aim for.

So there you go. What is it that the reading/writing public doesn’t know about you? Share it here.

http://goo.gl/pASdjp Mariah’s Marriage amazon US

“Oh, Mariah, let us not quarrel. We will be married within the month. At least your papa’s house contains plenty of books. You may practise throwing them.” anne stenhouse

http://goo.gl/NxYxj5 Mariah’s Marriage UK

http://goo.gl/PKptQg Bella’s Betrothal US

 …a solitary figure ahead among some gorse and shrubs. Charles thought she made a beautiful picture in her riding habit with the exquisite hat Jenny Menzies wished to inherit. He thought the girl might get it sooner rather than later if he followed his instincts. At that precise moment, he wanted to shake Bella hard. Then he would lock her in the castle in Strath Menzies and hold her forever. anne stenhouse

http://goo.gl/5RBzIm Bella’s Betrothal UK

https://www.omnilit.com/product-bella039sbetrothal-1312055-162.

html https://www.omnilit.com/product-mariah039smarriage-1173550-149.html

 

 

15 thoughts on “Fascinating I Am

  1. Good point! It is the same as the golfer who said – “it funny, the more I practice the luckier I get”. And the author who started to blog about his hobby, which I think was fishing and began to sell more of his historical novels! Hope this comment box works as it is not scrolling up and down!

    Like

    • Aileen, sorry the comment box was difficult. You are here and thanks for dropping by. Not sure if I could bear to take up fishing – thinking midgies – but yes, maybe… Anne

      Like

    • Hi Raven, It’s a Katy stewart, I think, a restaurant called The Howgate which traded for many years in a village south of Edinburgh, did spinach soup and open sandwiches. Fabulous fare. As to the dancing – don’t do Highland, but most weeks through the winter do Scottish Country. Always looking for more folk. Partners not necessary. Anne

      Like

  2. Fascinating, Anne about the Highland Dancing and being on television. I was taught to knit by my Aunt Margaret at an early age but I never kept up with it.

    Happy to learn more about you. 🙂

    Susan

    Like

  3. Hi Anne, those are some fascinating facts! Congratulations on the dancing! My mum taught me how to knit, too (although I was a lot older than four), and I still love knitting to this day. My dancing skills aren’t so hot, though 🙂 Nice post!

    Like

    • Hi Helena, I suspect the teaching at four was self-defence. It’s slightly lapsed at present, but the DH has a wonderful oiled wool jersey he wears for sailing and hill-walking which is now into its 4th decade. Country dancing does stay with you, Anne

      Like

  4. What a delightful post, Anne. Well, I was most impressed with the highland dancing. I presume you mean like that famous troupe that travels everywhere. If you were doing that for any length of time, it’s definitely something to include in a list of important/unusual facts about yourself. Also the knitting. That you made a sweater that is good enough your husband is still wearing it after so long…yes, well you are quite accomplished!
    Great pics. Lots of white space.
    Frankly, I’m not sure I get the naked statue, but I’m probably missing some connection. Also, I’d make your banner more general rather than specifically about Bella’s Betrothal. Don’t you have other books out or coming out? Just a thought. So the banner becomes about you and this blog rather than a specific book. Just random thoughts. I’ll definitely be sharing this on FB & Twitter.

    Like

    • Hi Marsha, thanks for dropping by. I can’t claim I was ever exhibition standard as a dancer, but I enjoyed it and it has left me with good footwork for Scottish country dancing as an oldie.
      I know what you mean about the header. It was a sort of gothic building for a while. I’m hoping to learn a bit about making banners and would perhaps include Mariah’s Marriage then – and the art work for Daisy’s Dilemma when it is available. the Greek statue I just like. Encountered her in Sicily a few years ago.
      Thanks for sharing around. Anne

      Like

  5. Hi Anne. Loved all this information about you. I never knew anyone who loved spinach soup and I don’t think I have ever had it. I learned to knit when I was in college. Someone tried to teach me, but I had to learn for myself. I knitted a lot of things when I was younger, but I haven’t knitted anything in years. I still know how to do it. Your fingers never forget that.

    Like

    • Hi Barbara, thanks for dropping by. I’m surprised, too. We were put off in childhood by lots of stories in comics about people avoiding cabbage and spinach as the basis of humour. Eventually, you grow up and can check it out for yourself. It’s great being able to knit. Anne

      Like

  6. I’ve never met anyone who likes spinach soup either, Barbara! Anne, was this also prompted by the Sunday Musings for this coming Sunday? I found it really hard to blog about this week’s topic (not mentioning it before Sunday as I don’t want to spoil it!)

    Like

    • Hi Dawn, no, it wasn’t although I see why you would think that. This is light-hearted and once I began to think of the oddities that make up my life history, I was off. Aren’t you glad I decided five was a good stopping point? anne

      Like

Leave a Reply

